clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin women's hockey: Details on 2014 commits

Nothing official has been released by Wisconsin, but an assistant coach tweeted out the newest class Wednesday.

Nicole Haase

Assistant Wisconsin women's hockey coach Jackie Friesen tweeted out a welcome to the 2014 signing class Wednesday.

The women in the class are:

  • Taylar Cianfarano, Oswego, N.Y.
  • Emily Clark, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • Maddie Rolfes, West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Baylee Wellhausen, Williams Bay, Wisconsin
  • Lauren Williams, Windsor, Ontario
  • And making her second appearance, Annie Pankowski, Laguna Hills, Calif.

Pankowski was, of course, a member of the 2013 signing class, but she chose not to enter school when she was selected to the US National Team Olympic pool. Since she had not yet entered school, she didn't have to redshirt. Instead, she simply becomes a part of this newest signing/freshman class.

Taylar Cianfarano is a center who attends the National Sport Academy in Lake Placid and is a member of the US U-18 National Team. Here's a local article about her from Syracuse.

Emily Clark is a lefty forward who won gold each of the past two years with Team Canada's U-18 team at the IIHF World Championships. Here's a local article about her from Saskatoon.

Maddie Rolfes is a defender who attends Shattuck St. Mary's and plays on the US U-18 National Team.

Baylee Wellhausen is a forward who attends Shattuck St. Mary's and plays on the US U-18 National Team. A poster at who watched Baylee play said, "Great skater who sees the ice extremely well and can score." She is the niece of women's hockey legend Cammi Granato.

Lauren Williams is a defenseman playing with the Whitby Wolves. Here's a local article about her from Windsor.

Cianfarano, Rolfes and Wellhausen were members of the USWNT team that took silver at the IIHF World Championships in Finland in January 2013.

There are profiles of Cianfarano, Rolfes and Wellhausen (and current Badger Jenny Ryan) in this PDF of a U-18 National Team program from the 2012-13 season.