clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin hockey recruiting: Stillwell, Parsells named Wisconsin Mr. Hockey finalists

Badgers recruits Tony Stillwell and Adam Parsells were named to the list of eight finalists for the 2014-15 Wisconsin Mr. Hockey award.

The Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association announced eight seniors as finalists for the 2014-15 Wisconsin "Mr. Hockey" award.

Three of the eight finalists are committed to play Division I hockey, including Adam Parsells (Wausau West) and Tony Stillwell (Notre Dame Academy) that are committed to playing for the Badgers. Ty Pelton-Byce (Madison Memorial) is committed to the University of Massachusetts.

The other finalists include Conner Blanck (St. Mary's Springs), Casey Esselman (Wisconsin Rapids), Connor Freeman (Kettle Moraine/Mukwonago/Oconomowoc), Logan Froberg (Bay Port) and Jack Nejedlo (Fond du Lac).

A shifty defenseman with puck-moving capabilities, Stillwell finished his senior season with nine goals and 13 assists for 22 points in 19 games. Stillwell missed the early portion of the season recovering from a foot injury but finished strong, scoring a goal in each of his final four games.

Unfortunately for Stillwell, his season came to a close on Tuesday night when Notre Dame fell to Appleton in the section semifinals. Stillwell will join Team Wisconsin for the WAHA playoffs as they attempt to make a run at a Tier 1 national championship. It's likely he joins the Madison Capitols for a few games in the USHL before the season is over.

A towering blueliner with a heavy shot, Parsells is an intimidating presence any time he's on the ice. Though 24 games this season Parsells has notched seven goals and 23 points in 24 games. West has advanced to the section finals on Saturday where they will face off against Antigo.

Like Stillwell, Parsells will also join Team Wisconsin whenever his high school season comes to an end. Parsells' USHL rights are owned by the Green Bay Gamblers, who will likely try to get him into the lineup for experience before the end of the year.

Former Mr. Hockey award winners:

2014 - Jacob Bresser - Eau Claire Memorial

2013 - Zach Jones - Verona

2012 - Kody Novinska - Rice Lake

2011 - Saxton Soley - Eau Claire Memorial

2010 - Max McCormick - Notre Dame Academy

2009 - Cody Strang - Madison Edgewood

2008 - Jefferson Dahl - Eau Claire Memorial

2007 - Travis Erstad - Stevens Point

2006 - Derrick LaPoint - Eau Claire North

2005 - Myle Hamblin - Madison Memorial

2004 - Dan Swanson - Menomonie

2003 - Davis Drewiske - Hudson

2002 - John Egge - Wisconsin Rapids

2001 - Evan Salmela - University School of Milwaukee

For more hockey coverage, follow Andy on Twitter --
You can also reach Andy via e-mail (