clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin at Nebraska Omaha: Saturday Night Lineup Card

Currently in a three-way tie with Denver and Minnesota State for fifth place, Wisconsin will attempt to sweep UNO Saturday night at the Century Link Center in Omaha.

John Faulkner (No. 30) starts in goal for UNO tonight
John Faulkner (No. 30) starts in goal for UNO tonight
Photo Credit: Matthew Semisch, Radio Free Omaha

Wisconsin picked up a win in Friday's series opener, 4-3, in front of an announced crowd of 10,543 at the Century Link Center in Omaha. The Badgers rode goals from Mark Zengerle, Michael Mersch and Joseph LaBate, and received the eventual game winner from sophomore Brendan Woods.

The Badgers will attempt the sweep tonight in game two of the final regular season series between these two clubs as members of the WCHA. Tonight is senior night for UNO, and the Mavericks have tabbed senior John Faulkner to play between the pipes in the finale.

With last night's win, the Badgers moved into a tie with Denver and Minnesota State for fifth place in the WCHA standings. Wisconsin is just one point behind fourth place Nebraska Omaha, and two points behind third place North Dakota.

There are no changes in terms of who is in or out of the lineup on the Wisconsin side, but Brendan Woods has been elevated to the second unit with LaBate and Mersch. Woods started last night between the Little brothers, but played the majority of the game with LaBate and Mersch. That line accounted for three of the Badgers' four goals in the win.

What you need to know:

Who: No. 16 Wisconsin (15-11-7, 11-7-7 WCHA) at No. 18 Nebraska Omaha (18-13-2, 14-9-2 WCHA)
What: Nebraska Omaha senior night
Where: Century Link Center (Omaha, Neb.)
Capacity: 16,200
Game Time: 7:07 PM CT
Television: NONE
Webcast: LINK ($)
Radio: Badger Sports Network
Referees: Brad Thul, Craig Welker


17 Kerdiles - 9 Zengerle - 7 Barnes
16 LaBate - 21 Woods - 25 Mersch
20 Ryan Little - 14 Dahl - 18 Sean Little
26 Navin - 12 Meuer - 8 Paape

28 Schulze - 55 Ramage
19 McCabe - 27 Simonelli
22 Witchow - 24 Faust

33 Rumpel
30 Peterson


25 Gwidt - 23 Searfoss - 28 O'Rourke
17 Walters - 14 Zombo - 15 Archibald
19 Lane - 12 Montpetit - 21 White
9 Polk - 13 Raubenheimer - 10 Simonson

8 Megna - 3 Sustr
4 Turgeon - 24 Aneloski
11 Seeler - 7 Young

30 Faulkner
31 Massa
29 Belfour

For more Wisconsin hockey coverage, follow Andy on Twitter (@AndyJohnsonB5Q)

You can also reach Andy via e-mail (