clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WCHA Awards: Wisconsin's Jake McCabe Named to All-WCHA Third Team

Wisconsin's defenseman was named All-WCHA Third Team, and 12 Badgers were honored for their work in the classroom.

Photo Credit: Larry Radloff/

The WCHA announced its year-end awards on Thursday and Wisconsin defenseman Jake McCabe was honored as an All-WCHA Third Team member.

The sophomore blue-liner from Eau Claire, Wis., has paired with Frankie Simonelli to form the Badgers' top defensive unit all season long. Currently, Wisconsin's defense ranks fifth in the nation, giving up just 2.11 goals per game.

McCabe has chipped in on the offensive end as well, registering three goals and 17 points in 32 games this season. He's also +10 in the plus/minus category.

The Badgers have a .658 winning percentage in games where McCabe records a point, but that number falls to .522 when he's held off the score sheet.

In addition to his on-ice award, McCabe and 11 other Badgers were named to the WCHA's All-Academic team.

The additional 11 Badgers honored were Tyler Barnes, Chase Drake, Joe Faust, Gavin Hartzog, Ryan Little, Michael Mersch, Brad Navin, Landon Peterson, Joel Rumpel, Frankie Simonelli and Mark Zengerle.

To earn recognition as a member of the All-WCHA Academic Team, member team student-athletes must meet the following criteria: 1) have completed one year of residency at present institution, prior to the current academic year; 2) have a grade point average of at least 3.00 (on a 4.00 scale) for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

WCHA Player of the Year: Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State
WCHA Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State
WCHA Rookie of the Year: Stephon Williams, Minnesota State
WCHA Coach of the Year: Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
WCHA Scholastic Player of the Year: Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud
WCHA Scoring Champion: Ryan Walters, Nebraska Omaha

All-WCHA First Team

F Ryan Walters, Nebraska Omaha
F Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State
F Danny Kristo, North Dakota
D Nate Schmidt, Minnesota
D Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State
G Stephon Williams, Minnesota State

All-WCHA Second Team

F Corban Knight, North Dakota
F Erik Haula, Minnesota
F Rylan Schwartz, Colorado College
D Joey LaLeggia, Denver
D Mike Boivin, Colorado College
G Juho Olkinuora, Denver

All-WCHA Third Team

F Matt Leitner, Minnesota State
F Nick Bjugstad, Minnesota
F Eriah Hayes, Minnesota State
D Andrej Sustr, Nebraska Omaha
D Jake McCabe, Wisconsin
G Adam Wilcox, Minnesota

All-WCHA Rookie Team

F Tony Cameranesi, Minnesota Duluth
F Alex Petan, Michigan Tech
F Rocco Grimaldi, North Dakota
D Nolan Zajac, Denver
D Andy Welinski, Minnsota Duluth
G Stephon Williams, Minnesota State

For more Wisconsin hockey coverage, follow Andy on Twitter (@AndyJohnsonB5Q)

You can also reach Andy via e-mail (