clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin at Minnesota: Saturday night line charts

After suffering a 4-1 loss last night to the Gophers in the inaugural Big Ten hockey game, the Badgers look to bounce back in the finale.

Jonathan Daniel

Joseph LaBate gave the Badgers an early 1-0 lead in the opener on Friday, but the Gophers would shut the door the rest of the way, winning the first ever Big Ten hockey game, 4-1.

Senior center Mark Zengerle assisted on the LaBate goal, giving him 99 assists in his four-year career. Only 13 Wisconsin skaters have ever reached the century mark in the assist category. The Last Badger to get to 100 assists was Andrew Shier during the 1993-94 season.

Jake McCabe also picked up an assist on LaBate's goal last night. The junior defenseman from Eau Claire, Wis., now sits in a three-way tie for the Wisconsin scoring lead with Zengerle and Michael Mersch.

One major point of emphasis last night was the way the game was called by the officials. Neither team seemed overly impressed by the referees, so that's certainly something to watch tonight. The Badgers have scored just one goal on the man advantage over their last 18 tries. For the season, Wisconsin's power play sits at 17.9 percent.

Tonight's contest features only one lineup change, with Joel Rumpel replacing Landon Peterson between the pipes for the Badgers. Peterson let in two goals he would undoubtedly like to have back last night, but did have 41 saves over the course of the game.

What you need to know:

Who: No. 12/13 Wisconsin (4-4-1, 0-1-0-0 Big Ten) at No. 1 Minnesota (10-2-1, 1-0-0-0 Big Ten)
What: Big Ten hockey conference game
Where: Mariucci Arena (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Capacity: 10,000
Rink Dimensions: 200x100
Game Time: 5:10 p.m CT
Television: Fox Sports Wisconsin, Fox Sports North
Live Stats: Link
Radio: Badger Sports Network, WIBA 1310

Minnesota Lines

Sam Warning - Kyle Rau - Hudson Fasching
Nate Condon - Justin Kloos - Connor Reilly
Tom Serratore - Travis Boyd - Seth Ambroz
A.J. Michaelson - Gabe Guertler - Vinni Lettieri

Brady Skjei - Justin Holl
Mikey Reilly - Jake Parenteau
Ben Marshall - Michael Brodzinski

Adam Wilcox
Michael Shibrowski

Wisconsin Lines

Joseph LaBate - Mark Zengerle - Tyler Barnes
Morgan Zulinick - Nic Kerdiles - Michael Mersch
Grant Besse - Jefferson Dahl - Sean Little
Brad Navin - Keegan Meuer - Jedd Soleway

Jake McCabe - Frankie Simonelli
Kevin Schulze - Joe Faust
Eddie Wittchow - Chase Drake

Joel Rumpel
Landon Peterson

For more hockey coverage, follow Andy on Twitter --
You can also reach Andy via e-mail (