clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Multiple Badgers earn All-Big Ten honors

Frank Kaminsky led four Badger players who were honored Monday with all-conference recognition, joining head coach Bo Ryan.

Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

The Wisconsin Badgers were very well represented when the Big Ten presented its 2014-'15 men's basketball awards show Monday evening, grabbing honors from all angles.

Senior Frank Kaminsky was a unanimous selection by the media for 2015 Big Ten Player of the Year Award and was chosen to receive the honor by the coaches, as well. Kaminsky is the only player from a major conference to lead his team in points, rebounds, assists, blocks and steals. That statistic is even more incredible considering the talented group of athletes around him. The only other Badgers to ever win this prestigious award were also from the Bo Ryan era, being Devin Harris in 2004 and Alando Tucker in 2007.

The National Player of the Year candidate was also a consensus First Team All-Big Ten selection for the 28-3 Badgers.

In addition, head coach Bo Ryan was voted the league's Coach of the Year by the coaches, his fourth selection for the award, placing him third in Big Ten basketball history behind only Gene Keady and Bob Knight. Though Ryan shared the distinction with Maryland head coach Mark Turgeon, who honored by the media, it could be argued that Ryan's feat is more valuable as he was elected by his Big Ten coaching peers.

While Kaminsky was elected to the first-team squad, fellow front court star Sam Dekker was named a second-team All-Big Ten selection. As a junior Dekker is averaging 13.1 points per game and has made a major jump in scoring and defensive efficiency from his sophomore year to this current season.

Sophomore Nigel Hayes was elected to the All-Big Ten Third Team, a major achievement for the ever-improving stretch forward from Toledo, Ohio. Hayes continues to rack up conference honors, as he was awarded the Big Ten's Sixth Man of the Year award last season as a freshman. He has improved as a rebounder this season, averaging 6.4 boards per game to place him among the top 10 in the conference.

Finally, Josh Gasser earned his third Big Ten All-Defensive team, placing him in elite company. The fifth-year senior has constantly defended the opposing squads most dangerous scoring wing and has long been regarded as one of the nation's premier perimeter defenders. The Wisconsin native has always been a fan favorite at the school, and has been around the program long enough to set career records for starts (135), games played (139) and minutes played (4,448).

With four starters garnering honors for their play this season, along with the Big Ten's Coach of the Year leading the way, expect incredible things for UW in the coming weeks. March Madness is upon us, Badger Nation, and your team will be led into the NCAA Tournament by the most talented and awarded squad (and coach) that has ever step foot on campus.

A comprehensive list of the Big Ten's 2014-15 awards is below.