clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin football: three UW defenders make All-B1G defensive teams

A whole host of defensive players received honorable mention accolades as well.

Wisconsin v Iowa Photo by Matthew Holst/Getty Images

After announcing the offensive award winners and all-conference team honorees on Tuesday, the Big Ten switched over to the defensive side of the ball on Wednesday. While the Wisconsin Badgers have one of the top defenses in the country as a unit, there haven’t been too many standout performances that would garner looks for postseason awards.

However, Wisconsin was still represented by three players on the all-B1G teams this season on defense:

  • CB Caesar Williams, third team (coaches)
  • ILB Jack Sanborn, third team (media)
  • DE Isaiahh Loudermilk, third team (media)

Sanborn led the team in tackles with 36 tackles and added one sack, three QB hits and a forced fumble. Loudermilk had a team leading two sacks and added 11 tackles and three QB hits. Williams has six tackles (one TFL) and two pass breakups while regularly being tasked with guarding the oppositions top wideout.

The Badgers also had a whole host of players that received honorable mention status from the coaches and media:

  • Honorable mention media: ILB Leo Chenal, CB Caesar Williams, CB Faion Hicks, S Eric Burrell
  • Honorable mention coaches: ILB Leo Chenal, DE Isaiahh Loudermilk, CB Faion Hicks, S Eric Burrell, ILB Jack Sanborn

As far as conference awards went, Iowa DL Dayvion Nixon was named the Big Ten’s Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year; Northwestern ILB Paddy Fisher was Linebacker of the Year; Ohio State CB Shaun Wade was Defensive Back of the Year; and Northwester DB Brandon Joseph was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.