clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin football: a trio of Badgers receive all-conference honors

Cole Van Lanen, Jake Ferguson and Logan Bruss were all named to one of the Big Ten all-conference teams by the coaches and the media.

NCAA Football: Indiana at Wisconsin Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

With the Big Ten Championship game coming up on Saturday it’s time for the Big Ten coaches and media to start handing out some postseason awards! All week there will be announcements coming from B1G headquarters in Rosemont, Ill. and today they started off with the offensive side of the ball.

Three Wisconsin Badgers were listed as all-conference performers:

  • OT Cole Van Lanen: 2nd team (media), 1st team (coaches)
  • TE Jake Ferguson: 1st team (media), 2nd team (coaches)
  • OG Logan Bruss: 3rd team (unanimous)

The coaches also picked FB Mason Stokke and OT Tyler Beach as honorable mention while the media declined to honorably mention any Badgers.

Ferguson leads the team with 26 receptions for 249 yards and four touchdowns and has been the only reliable receiving threat for QB Graham Mertz this season as WRs Kendric Pryor and Danny Davis III have dealt with injuries for much of the year. Bruss and Van Lanen have each started all five games the Badgers have played, while Beach has played in all five games but only started the last four. Stokke has been a valuable short-yardage option and is tied for second on the team with three touchdowns (all rushing).

Ohio State QB Justin Fields was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Quarterback of the Year, Indiana WR Ty Fryfogle was Wide Receiver of the Year, Minnesota RB Mohamed Ibrahim is Running Back of the Year, Ohio State OL Wyatt Davis is Offensive Lineman of the Year and Penn State’s Pat Freiermuth is Tight End of the Year.

The defensive awards will be announced on Wednesday and special teams and coaching awards will be announced on Thursday.