clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dana Rettke, Sydney Hilley lead Wisconsin’s AVCA All-American honors

Four Badgers receive AVCA 2019 All-American honors

@BadgerVB; UW Athletics Department

The Big 10-winning, NCAA tournament-sweeping, Husker-shucking Wisconsin Badgers were well represented on the AVCA All-American lists today. Led by Dana Rettke’s third consecutive first-team status, a total of four Badgers were nationally recognized.

Nationally, Dana Rettke is No. 16 in hitting percentage, No. 7 in blocks per set and No. 27 in points per set.

A catalyst for Wisconsin’s .295 hitting percentage, Sydney Hilley also landed on the first-team listing. She improved on her 2018 second-team status and 2017 honorable mention, putting her with Lauren Carlini, Haleigh Nelson and Tionna Williams and the aforementioned Rettke as Badgers with three All-American honors.

Molly Haggerty also improved her status, moving to a 2019 second-team selection from her 2016 third-team campaign. She finally shook off her injury and became a dynamite attacker, becoming the reliable option fans saw her freshman year.

Finally, as another dynamite attacker propelling Wisconsin volleyball to a conference title, Grace Loberg was among the 42 receiving honorable All-American status.

Looking at the other teams traveling to Pittsburgh, Baylor’s All-American representatives were all first-team players. Setter Hannah Lockin, hitter Yossiana Pressley and middle blocker Shelly Stafford all received top honors.

The Golden Gophers had a player on each list in middle blocker Regan Pittman (first-team), rightside hitter Stephanie Samedy (second-team), outside hitter Alexis Hart (third-team) and honorable mention libero CC McGraw.

Stanford was the only team with four selections on the first three teams with setter Jenna Gray and Morgan Hentz making First Team and with rightside hitter Audriana Fitzmorris and middle blocker Madeline Gates in Third-Team.

For those that hate seeing Stanford win, there may be a changing of the guard next year. Each of the Cardinal All-Americans, along with their two-time National Player of the Year winner Kathryn Plummer, all graduate. There’s only one senior All-American in the Final Four this year from the other three teams combined.