clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Hornibrook named to Davey O’Brien Award watch list

An early honor for the redshirt junior.

Capital One Orange Bowl - Miami v Wisconsin Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images

The Davey O’Brien Foundation released its watch list for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award on Tuesday, with Wisconsin quarterback Alex Hornibrook being named along with 25 other college football signal callers.

Hornibrook is one of three Big Ten quarterbacks on the watch list, joining Michigan State’s Brian Lewerke and Penn State’s Trace McSorley.

Other notable QBs include Washington’s Jake Browning, Clemson’s Kelly Bryant, Georgia’s Jake Fromm, Missouri’s Drew Lock, Alabama’s Jalen Hurts, and Arizona’s Khalil Tate.

Last season, Hornibrook completed 62.3 percent of his passes for 2,644 yards with 25 touchdowns and 15 interceptions for a 148.62 rating.

According to the press release, this is how the watch list was created:

Compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, this year’s list was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2018 college football season. All nominees are required to have previously started at least one game at their current institution. In addition, any player who was a finalist or semifinalist the previous year is automatically included.

Elsewhere, Wisconsin safety D’Cota Dixon has now picked up two preseason honors, with the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team nomination being the latest.

Allstate and the AFCA (American Football Coaches Association) released the 169 nominees via the AFCA Insider website:

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has been one of the most esteemed honors in college football for more than 25 years. The student-athletes who are nominated for this award not only demonstrate a unique dedication to community service and desire to make a positive impact on the lives around them, but they also show tremendous perseverance as well as the ability to overcome personal struggles and come out victorious against all odds.

On Monday, Dixon was named to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list along with inside linebacker T.J. Edwards.