clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 Badgers named to award watch lists

Expect more to come, folks.

NCAA Football: Michigan at Wisconsin Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Ah yes. Watch list season is upon us.

On Monday, the Maxwell Football Club announced two prestigious award watch lists, with three Wisconsin Badgers nominated.

On the 2018 Maxwell Award watch list, referencing the “College Player of the Year,” sophomore running back Jonathan Taylor was listed among 83 other college football standouts.

Recent winners of the Maxwell Award include quarterbacks Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), and A.J. McCarron (Alabama), with Alabama running back Derrick Henry taking home the honors in 2015.

Redshirt seniors T.J. Edwards and D’Cota Dixon were named to the 2018 Chuck Bednarik Award watch list, with that award being given to the “College Defensive Player of the Year.”

Edwards claimed first-team All-America honors from three publications and was a Butkus Award finalist season for his efforts during the 2017 season, while Dixon received first-team All-Big Ten accolades from the coaches and two other awards, the Wilma Rudolph Student-Athlete Achievement Award and the FWAA/Orange Bowl Courage Award.

Expect more Badgers to see their names among the watch list honorees in the days ahead.