clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Wisconsin Badgers named to 2017 watch lists

We are watching the watch lists.

Welcome back to watch list season, when a number of Wisconsin Badgers are mentioned as worth... watching in relation to college football’s 2017 awards.

On Thursday, five Badgers were named to two watch lists. Three of them were also already nominated for other honors.

Inside linebacker Jack Cichy, strong safety D’Cota Dixon, and defensive lineman Conor Sheehy were named to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski watch list for the “nation’s most outstanding college defensive player.” That’s three Badgers on the list of 103 players.

On the offensive side of the ball, offensive linemen Beau Benzschawel and Michael Deiter were honored with mentions on the 2017 Outland Trophy watch list. That award, with 81 players currently on its radar, is given to the “best interior lineman on offense or defense in college football.”

For Cichy, Sheehy and Deiter, these aren’t their first 2017 nominations. Cichy, a redshirt senior and former walk-on, already has been named on the Bednarik and Lott IMPACT Trophy watch lists. Sheehy, a senior, was also announced for the Bednarik Award earlier this week.

Deiter, a redshirt junior, landed a mention on the Rimington Trophy watch list, given to the nation’s most outstanding center—though it should bear watching where exactly he lines up in the fall with redshirt freshman Tyler Biadasz emerging, as well as how the guard play shapes out in camp.

B5Q will compile the full list of Wisconsin nominees next week after all awards have released their lists.