clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

National Collegiate Hall of Fame to induct former Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan

The former Badgers head coach will be enshrined in Kansas City this November.

Wisconsin v Arizona Photo by Jeff Gross/Getty Images

Bo knows basketball. Bo will be a Hall of Famer.

A day after it was announced the Wisconsin Badgers will play in the 2017 Hall of Fame Classic, former men’s basketball coach Bo Ryan received word he will be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Ryan boasts 747 wins on his resume, ranking him 26th all-time on the NCAA’s wins list. In his time as Wisconsin’s head coach, he built a 364-130 record, compiling the most victories in program history.

In his tenure in Madison as head coach, Ryan was honored as Big Ten Coach of the Year four times and guided his Badgers to back-to-back Final Fours during the 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons. His teams won seven Big Ten conference championships (four regular-season, three tournament). Maybe more impressive, though, was the fact UW never missed an NCAA tournament or finished lower than fourth in the conference.

The Chester, Pa., native is one of eight to be enshrined on Nov. 19 in Kansas City, Mo., at the Arvest Bank Theatre at the Midland. He makes up an impressive class including the following honorees:

  • Tim Duncan (Wake Forest)
  • Cleo Hill (Winston-Salem State)
  • Scott May (Indiana)
  • Rick Mount (Purdue)
  • Paul Silas (Creighton)
  • John Stockton (Gonzaga)
  • Jay Williams (Duke)

Ryan coached at UW-Milwaukee and UW-Plateville from 1999-2000 and 1984-99, respectively. Before his time as Panthers head coach, he led the Pioneers to four Division III championships during the 1990s.

Starting with its first class in 2006, the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame has also inducted such esteemed contributors to the game as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, John Wooden, Earvin “Magic” Johnson, Larry Bird and Dominique Wilkins.