clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin’s Tony Granato, Trent Frederic score Big Ten men’s hockey honors

The Badgers’ first-year coach was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

UW Athletic Communications

Wisconsin first-year coach Tony Granato and freshman forward Trent Frederic came home with some big-time hardware as the Big Ten announced the conference’s postseason honors on Monday.

Granato, who guided the No. 18 Badgers (19-14-1 overall, 12-8-0-0 Big Ten) to a second-place finish in the conference a year after Wisconsin went 8-19-8, was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year. He is the first Wisconsin coach since the great Bob Johnson to receive a conference coach of the year award.

Frederic, the first-round pick of the Boston Bruins in the 2016 NHL Entry Draft (29th overall), was named Freshman of the Year. Frederic, who has 33 points in 28 games played, including 15 goals, was also a unanimous selection to the Big Ten All-Freshman team, the only player so honored.

Sophomore captain Luke Kunin and junior defenseman Jake Linhart were named to the All-Big Ten Second Team. Sophomore defenseman Peter Tischke and freshman goaltender Jack Berry were named All-Big Ten Honorable Mention. Aidan Cavallini was Wisconsin’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.