clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Troy Vincent named 2017 College Football Hall of Fame nominee

The all-time Badger great has his first chance to join college football's elite.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

One of the all-time great Wisconsin Badgers is now one step away from joining the prestigious College Football Hall of Fame, as Troy Vincent is officially a nominee for the 2017 induction class.

This is Vincent's first time appearing on the ballot.

Vincent's bio on the site reads as follows:

1991 First Team All-American and runner-up for the 1991 Thorpe Award…Two-time All-Big Ten selection and 1991 Big Ten Co-Defensive Player of the Year…Finished career as Wisconsin’s leader in punt return yards (773) and passes defended (31).

Needless to say, Vincent was an outstanding player during his time in Madison, and he went on to have an outstanding NFL career, as well. Vincent is currently serving as the Senior Vice President of the NFL Player Engagement Organization.

Vincent will look to join fellow former Badgers Alan Ameche (1975), Bob Butler (1972), Ron Dayne (2013), Pat Harder (1993), Elroy Hirsch (1974) and Tim Krumrie (2016). Kirk Baumgartner (UW-Stevens Point, 2005) and Marty Below (UW-Oshkosh, 1988) have also been inducted.

Also nominated for this year's hall of fame is former Wisconsin-Whitewater head coach Forrest Perkins.

At the time of his retirement, he ranked second on the active wins list on the Division III level…Named NAIA Coach of the Year in 1966…The all-time winningest coach in conference and school history…captured 11 conference titles.

Congratulations, Troy and Forrest. And good luck on attempting to join college football's elite.