clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin football: Michael Caputo, Derek Watt to work out at pro day on March 9

Seventeen draft-eligible players look to improve their odds at making a professional football roster next week.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Just over a week and a half after the 2016 NFL combine concluded in Indianapolis, former Wisconsin Badgers and WIAC football players will perform in front of NFL personnel during UW's pro day March 9.

Former Badgers Joel Stave, Tyler Marz and Joe Schobert are scheduled to display their skills in front of scouts fresh off of their week at the combine. Joining them will be safety Michael Caputo and fullback Derek Watt -- both played in the East-West Shrine Game in January, with Caputo winning defensive MVP -- along with wide receiver Alex Erickson and wide receiver/safety hybrid Tanner McEvoy. Outside linebacker Jesse Hayes, who played in the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl, also will be in attendance.

Those that weren't invited to senior all-star games -- like Erickson, cornerback Darius Hillary, tight end Austin Traylor and punter Drew Meyer -- will have the opportunity to show their skills in a fresh attempt to make an impression on the personnel there.

Former Wisconsin safety Shelton Johnson, who played four games for the Oakland Raiders in 2013, will also take part in drills. It's not the first time a UW player has participated in multiple pro days in recent memory, as Aaron Henry and Jacob Pedersen returned to the McClain Center earlier this decade to impress scouts and hopefully make a training camp roster after not making NFL rosters their rookie season.

Five Division III players from the WIAC are also slated to perform.

Here's the full list of Wisconsin's Pro Day attendees, per Wisconsin's athletic department:

  • Mike Caputo
  • Alex Erickson
  • Jesse Hayes
  • Darius Hillary
  • Shelton Johnson
  • Tyler Marz
  • Drew Meyer
  • Tanner McEvoy
  • Joe Schobert
  • Joel Stave
  • Austin Traylor
  • Derek Watt
  • Isiah Cage (UW-Eau Claire)
  • Aaron Karlan (UW-Stevens Point)
  • Zach Kasuboski (UW-Oshkosh)
  • Andrew Robinson (UW-Platteville)
  • Joe Sommers (UW-Oshkosh)