clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin RB Dare Ogunbowale named Burlsworth Trophy semifinalist

The award is given annually to the most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on.

NCAA Football: Wisconsin at Northwestern Caylor Arnold-USA TODAY Sports

Another Wisconsin Badgers walk-on is on the short list for a prestigious national award.

The Burlsworth Trophy selection committee and the Springdale Rotary Club announced the top 10 semifinalists for this year’s award on Tuesday, including redshirt senior running back Dare Ogunbowale.

The trophy is “awarded to the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a walk-on.”

Ogunbowale, who has rushed for 350 yards on 5.2 yards per carry this season, joins several former Badgers who have been nominated for the award. Former teammate and UW outside linebacker Joe Schobert was a semifinalist last season. Wide receiver Jared Abbrederis won the Burlsworth Trophy back in 2013 and was a semifinalist in 2012. Other previous Wisconsin nominees include inside linebacker Marcus Trotter (2014), Abbrederis (2011) and fullback Bradie Ewing (2010).

The Burlsworth Trophy is named after former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth, who walked on to the Razorbacks program and became a three-year starter and the 63rd overall draft pick by the Indianapolis Colts. He died in a car accident 11 days after being selected in the 1999 NFL draft.