clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten announces season-ending defense, individual all-conference awards

A number of Badgers defenders pick up accolades.

Akron v Wisconsin Photo by Dylan Buell/Getty Images

The Big Ten announced its all-conference teams for defense and special teams, as well as eight individual defensive, special teams and coach awards on Tuesday. Wisconsin was well-represented, with six defensive players selected to all-Big Ten teams and head coach Paul Chryst winning the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year award (selected by the coaches).

Chryst is well-deserving, having led the Badgers to a 10-2 record, a Big Ten West crown and a chance to win the conference title game this weekend. Wisconsin has exceeded expectations this year, having played well against Michigan and Ohio State, even in defeat, and boasting wins against LSU, Michigan State, Iowa and Nebraska. Chryst has taken Wisconsin to a new level this year and has led a young Badgers team into the thick of the College Football Playoff discussion.

Six players from Wisconsin’s defense were selected to All-Big Ten defensive teams:

  • LB T.J. Watt: All-Big Ten Coaches first team, All-Big Ten Media first team
  • CB Sojourn Shelton: All-Big Ten Coaches second team, All-Big Ten Media first team
  • LB Vince Biegel: All-Big Ten Coaches second team, All-Big Ten Media third team
  • DL Conor Sheehy: All-Big Ten Coaches third team
  • S D’Cota Dixon: All-Big Ten Media third team
  • S Leo Musso: All-Big Ten Media third team

Jack Cichy, T.J. Edwards, Chikwe Obasih, Alec James and Derrick Tindal all received honorable-mention recognition. Also, Musso was selected by the coaches as Wisconsin’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honoree.

A complete list of the All-Big Ten defensive teams and individual awards can be found here.