clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Final Four 2015: Wisconsin forward Frank Kaminsky wins Naismith Trophy, NABC Player of the Year

As "Frank the Tank" continues to roll over competition, he adds two more pieces of hardware.

Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

Add two more honors to the list for senior forward Frank Kaminsky and his Wisconsin Badgers career.

Sunday evening, Kaminsky -- who led the Badgers with 20 points and 11 rebounds on Saturday in Wisconsin's upset victory over the previously undefeated Kentucky Wildcats -- was awarded the Naismith College Player of the Year and National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Player of the Year honors in Indianapolis.

Kaminsky's achievements in his senior season have piled up of late. Along with being named the Big Ten Conference Player of the Year, he also received the AP and USBWA Player of the Year awards last week. He was also named as a first team AP All-American selection.

The Lisle, Ill. native leads the Badgers in multiple categories heading into the national championship game against Duke on Monday, including scoring (18.7 per game), rebounds (8.1 per game), assists (2.7 per game) and blocks (1.5 per game)

The Naismith Trophy is awarded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. According to the official press release, Kaminsky won the awarded over three other finalists, including Kentucky junior forward Willie Cauley-Stein, Notre Dame senior guard Jerian Grant and Duke freshman center Jahlil Okafor.

"Frank displayed tremendous leadership qualities this season through selfless play and making those around him better, and in doing so clearly demonstrated why he is the Naismith Trophy winner as the most outstanding player in the nation," said Eric Oberman, the executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club, per the release.

As seen below, his Wisconsin teammates were in attendance to see the 7-foot forward receive his award: