clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin football: Alex Erickson, Tyler Marz earn All-Big Ten honors on offense

Twelve Badgers earned all-conference honors this week.

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Another former walk-on for the Wisconsin Badgers was among those who received All-Big Ten honors on Tuesday.

Redshirt senior wide receiver Alex Erickson was named a first-team all-conference selection by the media, while earning second-team honors by the coaches. The media tapped fellow redshirt senior, left tackle Tyler Marz, with second-team All-Big Ten honors, with the coaches picking him as a third-team selection.

Erickson leads the Badgers in receptions and receiving yards with 72 catches for 924 yards. He's six catches away from tying another former walk-on, wide receiver Jared Abbrederis, for the school-record for all-time receptions in a collegiate career. A former option quarterback from Darlington, Wis., Erickson's been the consistent receiving threat for Wisconsin the past two seasons for UW quarterbacks. He's only 76 yards from being the fourth Badger to achieve 1,000 receiving yards in a season.

Marz has been the anchor on a seemingly ever-changing offensive line, starting all 12 games in 2012 -- 39 consecutive since 2013. With the Badgers' bowl destination, he'll play in his 50th game.

Redshirt sophomore tight end Troy Fumagalli earned consensus honorable mention All-Big Ten recognition, as he hauled in 26 catches for 277 yards and a touchdown. Redshirt freshman offensive lineman Michael Deiter earned honorable mention from the media after starting all 12 games -- switching from left guard to center after junior Dan Voltz went down with a leg injury.

Erickson, Marz lead All-Big Ten honorees for UW offense
Former walk-on receiver Erickson earns first-team all-conference nod

Dec. 1, 2015

• Online:

MADISON, Wis. - Led by first-team selection Alex Erickson, the Wisconsin football team on Tuesday added a pair of honorees from its offense to the list of Badgers earning All-Big Ten recognition.

Erickson was named a first-team All-Big Ten selection in a vote of media members covering the conference and was a second-team choice by the league's coaches. He's joined on the list of All-Big Ten honorees by senior LT Tyler Marz, who was a second-team pick of the media and a third-team selection by the coaches.

Erickson has averaged 77.0 receiving yards per game, ranking third in the Big Ten. The Badgers' leading receiver with 924 yards, he needs 76 more in UW's bowl game to become the fourth player in school history with a 1,000-yard receiving season.

Among Big Ten players, only Michigan State's Aaron Burbridge (75) has caught more passes than Erickson, who has tallied 72 grabs on the year and needs six more to match UW's single-season school record of 78.

Both of Wisconsin's first-team All-Big Ten selections began their careers as walk-ons. In addition to Erickson, senior OLB Joe Schobert was a consensus first-team selection on defense and was named Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year.

Marz was honored as the anchor of an offensive line beset by injuries. In last Saturday's regular-season finale, he shared starter's duties with four redshirt freshmen. He has started 39 consecutive games at left tackle, dating back to 2013, and will play in the 50th game of his career in UW's bowl game.

Marz was honored for the third-consecutive year after being an honorable mention All-Big Ten selection in 2013 and 2014. He also is expected to earn his fourth Academic All-Big Ten award.

Also Tuesday, sophomore TE Troy Fumagalli earned consensus honorable mention All-Big Ten recognition after finishing the regular season as UW's fourth-leading receiver with 26 catches for 277 yards and a touchdown. Redshirt freshman OL Michael Deiter, who has started all 12 games while logging time at both guard and center for the Badgers, earned honorable mention from the media.

Including the defensive players named Monday, the Badgers produced a total of 12 All-Big Ten honorees.

Wisconsin's 2015 All-Big Ten Selections
• OLB Vince Biegel (3rd, consensus)
• S Michael Caputo (2nd, consensus)
• OL Michael Deiter (honorable mention, media)
• ILB T.J. Edwards (honorable mention, coaches)
• WR Alex Erickson (1st, media; 2nd, coaches)
• TE Troy Fumagalli (honorable mention, consensus)
• CB Darius Hillary (honorable mention, coaches)
• S Tanner McEvoy (honorable mention, consensus)
• LT Tyler Marz (2nd, media; 3rd, coaches)
• DE Chikwe Obasih (honorable mention, media)
• OLB Joe Schobert (1st, consensus)
• CB Sojourn Shelton (honorable mention, media)

- #Badgers -