5 more Badgers earn their 'Ws'


During Friday's morning practice, reporters noted a few more freshmen sporting the Motion "W" on their helmets. Offensive tackle Beau Benzschawel, linebacker D'Cota Dixon, safety Lubern Figaro, defensive lineman Conor Sheehy and cornerback Derrick Tindal are the newest first-year players to exchange their black stripes for Wisconsin's logo, joining kicker Rafael Gaglianone and wide receivers Natrell Jamerson, George Rushing and Krenwick Sanders with their "Ws." The tradition, of course, started when Gary Andersen came to Wisconsin. This year's crop of freshmen has widely impressed in camp, elevating expectations for certain positions previously seen as weaknesses. That's especially true at kicker (Gaglianone might have the starting job locked up) and wide receiver (two, maybe three among Jamerson, Rushing and Sanders could travel with the team to LSU for the opener Aug. 30).