clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten announces attendees for 2014 media days

Wisconsin will be repped by Melvin Gordon, Rob Havenstein and Warren Herring alongside Gary Andersen.


For Big Ten fans, the annual media days held in Chicago typically mark a significant break from the offseason. The conference's top players and head coaches are in attendance, and some extraneous storylines usually pop up beyond the central topics of each year. Sure, the event might've lost some buzz when Bret Bielema was swapped in for Gary Andersen, but again: this gives us more football to talk about.

This year, the top storylines figure to revolve around the additions of Maryland and Rutgers, player unions, the inaugural College Football Playoff, non-conference scheduling ... and hopefully some accusations of recruit-poaching. Miss u, Bret.

Here are the 42 players that will accompany their respective head coaches to this year's media days, held July 28 and 29 at the Hilton Chicago. There's also a new format for the Big Ten Kickoff luncheon on the 29th, which is open to fans. From the conference:

Beginning at 10 a.m. CT, fans in attendance will take part in an autograph session with the head coaches and one former player from each school, while current players will take part in brief, live interviews highlighted by questions from fans on-site and through social media channels. Coaches and current and former student-athletes will be available for a photo session around 11 a.m. The luncheon begins at 11:30 a.m. and will showcase interviews with all 14 head coaches, and include speeches by Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany, Tournament of Roses president Rich Chinen and Ameer Abdullah of Nebraska. The All-Big Ten running back and Academic All-Big Ten honoree will speak on behalf of the players in attendance.

Players attending:

East Division

David Cooper, Sr., LB
Nate Sudfeld, Jr., QB
Shane Wynn, Sr., WR*

C.J. Brown, Sr., QB
Stefon Diggs, Jr., WR*
Jeremiah Johnson, Sr., DB

Frank Clark, Sr., DE*
Devin Gardner, Sr., QB*
Jake Ryan, Sr., LB*

Michigan State
Shilique Calhoun, Jr., DE*
Connor Cook, Jr., QB*
Kurtis Drummond, Sr., FS*

Ohio State
Michael Bennett, Sr., DL*
Jeff Heuerman, Sr., TE*
Braxton Miller, Sr., QB*

Penn State
Bill Belton, Sr., RB
Sam Ficken, Sr., PK*
Mike Hull, Sr., LB

Michael Burton, Sr., FB
Darius Hamilton, Jr., DL
Lorenzo Waters, Sr., DB

West Division

Simon Cvijanovic, Sr., OT
Jon Davis, Sr., TE
Austin Teitsma, Sr., DL

Carl Davis, Sr., DT*
Brandon Scherff, Sr., OL*
Mark Weisman, Sr., RB

David Cobb, Sr., RB
Mitch Leidner, So., QB
Cedric Thompson, Sr., S

Ameer Abdullah, Sr., RB*
Kenny Bell, Sr., WR*
Corey Cooper, Sr., S*

Ibraheim Campbell, Sr., S*
Collin Ellis, Sr., LB
Trevor Siemian, Sr., QB

Raheem Mostert, Sr., RB
Sean Robinson, Sr., LB
Ryan Russell, Sr., DE

Melvin Gordon, Jr., RB*
Rob Havenstein, Sr., RT*
Warren Herring, Sr., DL

* indicates previous all-conference selection