clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College football bowls: Wisconsin to face Auburn in Outback Bowl, Ohio State gets Alabama in Sugar Bowl

After Saturday night's debacle, the Badgers tumbled in the rankings while Ohio State made the Playoff.

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The Wisconsin Badgers are headed to the Outback Bowl. There, they'll face the Auburn Tigers on New Year's Day with a noon ET kickoff at Raymond James Stadium.

Auburn, ranked No. 19 in the latest College Football Playoff rankings released Sunday, is coming off a 55-44 loss to No. 1 Alabama in the Iron Bowl on Nov. 29. The Tigers finished 8-4 in the SEC West.

The Badgers, of course, finished 10-3 after getting whooped by Ohio State in the Big Ten Championship Game on Saturday night. The Buckeyes will play Alabama in the Allstate Sugar Bowl on New Year's Day.

We'll have more on the matchup throughout the coming days. Below are the Big Ten bowls (updated as they come in) and the full playoff rankings, plus the latest polls. Ohio State beat out Baylor and TCU for the fourth playoff spot, indicating that the Big 12 was really hurt by the lack of an official conference championship game and, thus, the lack of a single conference champion. Otherwise, the top three unfolded as expected with Alabama, Oregon and Florida State.

Big Ten bowls

Sugar: Alabama vs. Ohio State

Cotton: Baylor vs. Michigan State

Outback: Wisconsin vs. Auburn

Citrus: Minnesota vs. Missouri

TaxSlayer: Iowa vs. Tennessee

Foster Farms: Maryland vs. Stanford

Holiday: Nebraska vs. USC

Pinstripe: Boston College vs. Penn State

Quick Lane: North Carolina vs. Rutgers

Heart of Dallas: Illinois vs. Louisiana Tech

Playoff AP Coaches Massey computer composite
1 Alabama Alabama Alabama Alabama
2 Oregon Florida State Florida State Oregon
3 Florida State Oregon Oregon TCU
4 Ohio State Baylor Ohio State Ohio State
5 Baylor Ohio State Baylor Florida State
6 TCU TCU TCU Baylor
7 Mississippi State Michigan State Michigan State Ole Miss
8 Michigan State Mississippi State Mississippi State Mississippi State
9 Ole Miss Ole Miss Georgia Tech Michigan State
10 Arizona Georgia Tech Kansas State Georgia
11 Kansas State Kansas State Arizona Auburn
12 Georgia Tech Arizona Ole Miss Kansas State
13 Georgia Georgia Georgia Georgia Tech
14 UCLA UCLA Missouri UCLA
15 Arizona State Arizona State UCLA Wisconsin
16 Missouri Missouri Arizona State Missouri
17 Clemson Wisconsin Wisconsin Arizona
18 Wisconsin Clemson Clemson LSU
19 Auburn Auburn Auburn Oklahoma
20 Boise State Louisville Louisville Clemson
21 Louisville Boise State Boise State Arizona State
22 Utah LSU Nebraska Boise State
24 USC USC Oklahoma Louisville
25 Minnesota Nebraska Utah Nebraska