clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Melvin Gordon named 2014 AP All-American

No surprise here.

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Melvin Gordon is an Associated Press All-American. The AP announced its 2014 teams on Tuesday, listing Gordon as a first-team running back along with Indiana's Tevin Coleman.

Gordon's season needs little refreshing at this point, but here we go anyway

  • Doak Walker Award winner
  • Finalist for Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year awards
  • Grange-Griffin Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year
  • Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year
  • First-team All-Big Ten (consensus)
  • Leads country with 2,336 rushing yards (Big Ten record) and 29 touchdowns
  • Fastest player in FBS history to reach 2,000 rushing yards (241 carries)
  • Enters Outback Bowl 292 yards shy of the NCAA single-season rushing record (Barry Sanders, 1988)
  • On pace to break FBS record career rushing average (Reggie Bush, 4.32)

There's a few more missing from that list, most likely. But the point's proven by now: Gordon's among Wisconsin's best-ever running backs.

Here's the full list of this year's AP All-Americans:



Quarterback - Marcus Mariota, junior, 6-foot-4, 219 pounds, Oregon

Running backs - Melvin Gordon, junior, 6-1, 213, Wisconsin; Tevin Coleman, junior, 6-1, 210, Indiana.

Tackles - Brandon Scherff, senior, 6-5, 320, Iowa; Spencer Drango, junior, 6-6, 310, Baylor.

Guards - Tre Jackson, senior, 6-4, 330, Florida State; Laken Tomlinson, senior, 6-3, 320, Duke.

Center - Reese Dismukes, senior, 6-3, 296, Auburn.

Tight End - Nick O'Leary, senior, 6-3, 247, Florida State.

Wide receivers - Amari Cooper, junior, 6-1, 210, Alabama; Rashard Higgins, sophomore, 6-2, 188, Colorado State.

Kicker - Roberto Aguayo, sophomore, 6-1, 203, Florida State.

All-purpose player - Shaq Thompson, junior, 6-1, 228, Washington.


Ends - Joey Bosa, sophomore, 6-5, 278, Ohio State; Vic Beasley, senior, 6-3, 235, Clemson.

Tackles - Malcolm Brown, junior, 6-2, 320, Texas; Danny Shelton, junior, 6-2, 339, Washington.

Linebackers - Scooby Wright III, sophomore, 6-1, 246, Arizona; Hau'oli Kikaha, senior, 6-3, 246, Washington; Paul Dawson, senior, 6-2, 230, TCU.

Cornerbacks - Senquez Golson, senior, 5-9, 176, Mississippi; Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, senior, 5-10, 195, Oregon.

Safeties - Landon Collins, junior, 6-0, 222, Alabama; Gerod Holliman, sophomore, 6-2, 213, Louisville.

Punter - Tom Hackett, junior, 5-11, 187, Utah.



Quarterback - Trevone Boykin, junior, TCU

Running backs - James Conner, sophomore, Pittsburgh; Ameer Abdullah, senior, Nebraska.

Tackles - La'el Collins, senior, LSU; Andrus Peat, junior, Stanford.

Guards - Arie Kouandjio, senior, Alabama; A.J. Cann, senior, South Carolina.

Center - Hroniss Grasu, senior, Oregon.

Tight End - Maxx Williams, sophomore, Minnesota.

Wide receivers - Kevin White, senior, West Virginia; Rashad Greene, senior, Florida State.

Kicker - Brad Craddock, junior, Maryland.

All-purpose player - Tyler Lockett, senior, Kansas State.


Ends - Shane Ray, junior, Missouri; Nate Orchard, senior, Utah.

Tackles - Leonard Williams, junior, Southern California; Robert Nkemdiche, sophomore, Mississippi.

Linebackers - Eric Kendricks, senior, UCLA; Benardrick McKinney, junior, Mississippi State; Jaylon Smith, sophomore, Notre Dame.

Cornerbacks - Vernon Hargreaves III, sophomore, Florida; Jacoby Glenn, sophomore, Central Florida.

Safeties - Jalen Ramsey, sophomore, Florida State; Cody Prewitt, senior, Mississippi.

Punter - JK Scott, freshman, Alabama.



Quarterback - J.T. Barrett, redshirt freshman, Ohio State.

Running backs - Jay Ajayi, junior, Boise State; Samaje Perine, freshman, Oklahoma.

Tackles - Cedric Ogbuehi, senior, Texas A&M; Jake Fisher, senior, Oregon.

Guards - Shaquille Mason, senior, Georgia Tech; Ben Beckwith, senior, Mississippi State.

Center - Jack Allen, junior, Michigan State.

Tight End - Clive Walford, senior, Miami.

Wide receivers - Justin Hardy, senior, East Carolina; Nelson Agholor, junior, Southern California.

Kicker - Josh Lambert, sophomore, West Virginia.

All-purpose player - J.J. Nelson, senior, UAB.


Ends - Shawn Oakman, junior, Baylor; Randy Gregory, junior, Nebraska.

Tackles - Michael Bennett, senior, Ohio State; Eddie Goldman, junior, Florida State.

Linebackers - Denzel Perryman, senior, Miami; Mike Hull, senior, Penn State; Eric Striker, junior, Oklahoma.

Cornerbacks - Trae Waynes, junior, Michigan State; Kendall Fuller, sophomore, Virginia Tech.

Safeties - Kurtis Drummond, senior, Michigan State; Su'a Cravens, sophomore, Southern California.

Punter - Austin Rehkow, sophomore, Idaho.


Voting panel: Bob Asmussen, Champaign (Ill.) News-Gazette; Daniel Berk, Arizona Daily Star, Tucson; Seth Emerson, The Macon (Ga.) Telegraph/Columbus (Ga.) Ledger-Enquirer; Tim Griffin, San Antonio Express-News; Eric Hansen, The South Bend (Ind.) Tribune; Mike Herndon, Alabama Media Group (; Adam Jude, The Seattle Times; Iliana Limon, Orlando (Fla.) Sentinel and Sun Sentinel; Rob Long, WJFK-105.7 Baltimore; Chuck McGill, Charleston (W.Va.) Daily Mail; Kyle Ringo, Daily Camera, Boulder, Colorado; Nate Sandell, 1500 ESPN Twin Cities/KSTP AM, St. Paul, Minnesota; Keith Sargeant, New Jersey Advance Media/; John Silver, The Journal Inquirer, Manchester, Connecticut; Gary Smits, Florida Times-Union, Jacksonville; Sam Werner, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.