clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN Wisconsin Hall of Fame Nomination #5: Alan Ameche

This is the fifth of 10 posts revealing the Wisconsin Badgers' 10 nominees for possible induction into SBN Wisconsin's Hall of Fame. The nominees are revealed in order of most votes from the B5Q readership.

Considering Wisconsin only has two Heisman Trophy winners, it's not surprising that UW's original "Mr. Heisman" is the fifth Badger nominated for possible induction into SBN Wisconsin's Hall of Fame.

Lino Dante "Alan" Ameche (March 1, 1933 – August 8, 1988) once held the same NCAA record Ron Dayne currently owns as his 3,212 career yards were the most in NCAA history when his college career ended in 1954. That was the same year Ameche won the Heisman. His No. 35 is now retired at Wisconsin.

The All-American also played linebacker for Wisconsin and was drafted by the Baltimore Colts in 1955, where he won the NFL Rookie of the Year award and went on to make the Pro Bowl in each of his first four NFL seasons.

Ameche is known for scoring the game-winning touchdown in the 1958 NFL Championship Game at Yankee Stadium, often known as "The Greatest Game Ever Played". His one-yard touchdown run beat the Giants 23-17.

Ameche joins Dayne, Barry Alvarez, Bo Ryan, Pat Richter and five other Badgers on the SBN Wisconsin Hall of Fame ballot. Ten nominees each from the Green Bay Packers, Milwaukee Brewers, Milwaukee Bucks and Marquette Golden Eagles will also be featured on the ballot. Once again, all voting will be done by SBNation readers.