clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN Wisconsin Hall of Fame Nomination #2: Ron Dayne

This is the second of 10 posts revealing the Wisconsin Badgers' 10 nominees for possible induction into SBN Wisconsin's Hall of Fame. The nominees are revealed in order of most votes from the B5Q readership.

With Barry Alvarez already announced as the first nominee, we now move on to no-brainer nominee No.2: Ron Dayne.

Dayne is most notably known for owning the NCAA's Division I-A career rushing record with 6,397 yards over his four years at Wisconsin. He was one of the most dominating college football players ever and was awarded the Heisman Trophy in 1999.

Those who were lucky enough to witness Ron Dayne know how good he was as a running back. His combination of size and speed was unmatched by any other running back in college football and there really has not been a player like him ever since.

On top of all the records he owns, Dayne was one of the most reliable players to ever put on the Cardinal and White. He saved his best for the biggest of games, including three bowl games in which he rushed for over 200 yards. In UW's two Rose Bowl victories in 1999 and 2000, Dayne rushed for 246 and 200 yards, respectively.

Dayne joins Alvarez and eight other Badgers on the SBN Wisconsin Hall of Fame ballot which will also include 10 nominees each from the Green Bay Packers, Milwaukee Brewers, Milwaukee Bucks and Marquette Golden Eagles. Once again, all voting will be done by SBNation readers.