Brianna Decker Named Top-10 Finalist for 2013 Patty Kazmaier Award

Photo Credit: Larry Radloff Photography

Wisconsin senior Brianna Decker has been named a top-10 finalist for the Patty Kaz for the second consecutive season.

The USA Hockey Foundation today announced the 10 finalists for the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. For the second season in a row, Wisconsin forward Brianna Decker has made the cut.

An award from The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey.

Decker won the 2012 Patty Kaz after leading the nation with 37 goals, joining former Badgers Meghan Duggan, Jessie Vetter and Sara Bauer in the exclusive club.

The Dousman, Wis., native currently leads the Badgers in goals (27), assists (23) and points (50). For her career, Decker has amassed over 200 points at Wisconsin and has done so in just 112 games, becoming the fastest Badger to reach the milestone.

In the NCAA Division I women’s hockey record book, Decker currently ranks eighth for career points (239), seventh in career goals (109) and 16th in assists (124).

This marks the third consecutive year in which a Badger has been named a top-10 finalist -- Brianna Decker and Hilary Knight in 2012, and Meghan Duggan and Hilary Knight in 2011.

Wisconsin's all-time top-10 finalists include Sara Bauer (2006, 2007), Decker (2012, 2013), Duggan (2011), Molly Engstrom (2005), Meghan Hunter (2001), Knight (2009, 2011, 2012), Erika Lawler (2009), Carla MacLeod (2005), Meaghan Mikkelson (2007), Bobbi-Jo Slusar (2006) and Jessie Vetter (2009).

Selection criteria include outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.

A 13-member selection committee will choose the three finalists, which will be announced March 7. The committee will also select this year's recipient, with the announcement taking place live at a brunch ceremony in Minneapolis on March 23.

2013 Patty Kazmaier Top-10 Finalists

Megan Bozek Sr D University of Minnesota
Hannah Brandt Fr F University of Minnesota
Alex Carpenter So F Boston College
Kendall Coyne So F Northeastern University
Brianna Decker Sr F University of Wisconsin
Jillian Dempsey Sr F Harvard University
Brianne Jenner Jr F Cornell University
Amanda Kessel Jr F University of Minnesota
Jocelyne Lamoureux Sr F University of North Dakota
Noora Raty Sr G University of Minnesota

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Bucky's 5th Quarter

You must be a member of Bucky's 5th Quarter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bucky's 5th Quarter. You should read them.

Join Bucky's 5th Quarter

You must be a member of Bucky's 5th Quarter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bucky's 5th Quarter. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.