Eaves Names Hockey Captains

Wisconsin senior defenseman John Ramage has been a captain at the NCAA level, and for Team USA at the World Junior Championship. He'll lead the Badgers once again this season.

More than any other sport, the captain's "C" carries more weight on the front of a hockey sweater. In the locker room or on the ice, the "C" commands respect from every member of the team.

For the second consecutive season, defenseman John Ramage will accept that responsibility for the Badger Men's hockey team.

The senior blue-liner from St. Louis has experience in the leadership role. In addition to wearing the "C" last season for Wisconsin, Ramage was also named captain of Team USA at the 2011 World Junior Championship in Buffalo, New York.

The team also announced that forward Ryan Little would be a full time alternate captain. Little, a fifth year senior from Fond du Lac was also an alternate with Justin Schultz one season ago.

Little and Ramage will be joined by a pair of upperclassmen in their leadership group. Senior Derek Lee and junior Frankie Simonelli were also named alternate captains on Wednesday.

Lee, a forward from North Vancouver, B.C. will wear the "A" on his sweater for home games, while Simonelli, a defenseman from Bensenville, Ill will wear the "A" when the Badgers are on the road.

Wisconsin head coach Mike Eaves noted that junior forwards Mark Zengerle (Rochester, N.Y.), and Jefferson Dahl (Eau Claire, WI) also received a significant amount of votes from their peers.

Per a release from the school, Ramage becomes the first solo captain in consecutive seasons since Adam Burish led the Badgers in 2004-05 and 2005-06.

Other two-time solo captains include Steve Reinprecht (1998-99, 1999-2000), Erik Raygor (1996-97, 1997-98), Steve Rohlik (1988-89, 1989-90) and Mike Eaves (1975-76, 1977-78). Eaves was also one of three tri-captains during the 1976-77 season. In 2008-09, Ben Street and Blake Geoffrion were co-captains, before both were part of a tri-captain group in 2009-10 that also included Ryan McDonagh.

Prior to this season, the last time UW had one captain and three assistant captains was during the 2005-06 campaign when Burish was assisted by Ryan MacMurchy, Tom Gilbert and Andrew Joudrey.

Join the Badger conversation on Facebook! Go to our Facebook page and "like" us!

For more Wisconsin coverage, follow Andy on Twitter (@AndyJohnsonB5Q)

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Bucky's 5th Quarter

You must be a member of Bucky's 5th Quarter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bucky's 5th Quarter. You should read them.

Join Bucky's 5th Quarter

You must be a member of Bucky's 5th Quarter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bucky's 5th Quarter. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.