Decker Named Patty Kazmaier Finalist

Photo: Nicole Haase

USA Hockey announced on Thursday morning that Wisconsin will be once again represented with a finalist for the Patty Kazmaier award.

Junior forward Brianna Decker was selected as one of the three finalists for the award along with Jocelyne Lamouruex from North Dakota, and Florence Schelling from Northeastern University.

Decker is the fourth Badger to be named a finalist for the award. The previous three, Meghan Duggan (2011), Jessie Vetter (2009), and Sara Bauer ( 2006) all wound up winning the award.

In leading the top-seeded Badgers into the NCAA tournament, Decker paces the nation with 36 goals this season and ranks second in the country with 78 points. In Western Collegiate Hockey Association play, Decker tallied 54 points (20-34) in 28 conference games en route to being named the WCHA Player of the Year and earning First Team All-WCHA honors.

In 36 games this season, Decker has 33 multi-point games and ranks third in the nation with 2.14 points per game.

As an alternate captain, Decker helped lead Wisconsin to the No. 1 ranking in the USA Today/USA Hockey Magazine Women's College Hockey Poll in 21-of-22 weeks this season. Decker has also recorded four hat tricks this season and has five game-winning goals.

An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey.

Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey.

Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement. The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is supported, in part, by a grant from the NHL Foundation.

The year's recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be announced live at a brunch ceremony in Duluth, Minn., during the Women's Frozen Four on Saturday, March 17.

Tickets to the ceremony are still available and may be purchased by calling 719-538-1169 or by submitting a completed ticket form at Individual seats are $65, while tables of 10 are available for $600. The ceremony will be broadcast live at

Join the Badger conversation on Facebook! Go to our Facebook page and "like" us!

For more Wisconsin hockey coverage, follow Chuck on Twitter (@UWChuckSchwartz)

Chuck can also be reached via e-mail at

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Bucky's 5th Quarter

You must be a member of Bucky's 5th Quarter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bucky's 5th Quarter. You should read them.

Join Bucky's 5th Quarter

You must be a member of Bucky's 5th Quarter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Bucky's 5th Quarter. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.